Explore charming gold mining villages, take a family steamship cruise, go cycling, check out an eclectic inventor's workshop, have high tea at a castle.
The 341-kilometre Central Otago Road Trip follows scenic highways from the Pacific Ocean to the foot of the Southern Alps via the beautiful Strath Taieri and Maniototo Plains.
Leaving Dunedin, it winds through the heart of Central Otago taking in characterful settlements such as Middlemarch, Ranfurly, Oturehua and Clyde, as well as the larger towns of Alexandra, Cromwell, Arrowtown and Queenstown.
Soak up the scenery, see the sights, and enjoy all sorts of activities at a relaxed pace by taking 3–5 days – longer if you can.
There are tips, experiences, highlights, routes and maps. Check out Matt Chisholm's video about the trip courtesy of Tourism Central Otago.
Go to Otago Tohu Whenua for a complete list of itineraries.
The discoverer of gold in the Arrow river was a shepherd named Jack Tewa or Maori Jack. He also won the Royal Humane medal for saving a man from drowning in Lake Wakatipu.
Arrowtown was originally known as Fox’s. named after William Fox an early gold discoverer. Then it was known as The Arrow and later Arrowtown.
The Chinese Settlement was established in 1867-8 and was in existence until the mid 1930’s. The site underwent an archaeological excavation in 1984.
The trees in Arrowtown’s beautiful avenues are Sycamore, Ash, Oak, Elm, and Rowan. The first avenue was planted in 1867.
They used to sell Morphine in the local drug store. That was back in the goldmining days of course!
Millbrook Resort is named after Mill Farm on which it sits. Mill farm was established by the Butel family who came from Normandy.
Register Here for access to our Trade & Media Downloads